Stepping Stones logo

Every Child Matters

Every Child Matters (ECM) is a UK government initiative for England and Wales, that was launched in 2003. The policy applies to every child from birth until the age of 19. It lists 5 key principles which all children should have rights to. The five outcomes are defined below.

1. Being Healthy
Children learn about healthy eating and have a balanced diet
Children are protected from becoming ill
Children take part in regular physical exercise

2. Staying Safe
Children are protected from abuse
Children are secure and well supervised
Children use safe resources

Every Child logo
3. Enjoying and Achieving
Children are happy, settled and involved
Children explore confidently
Children respond to adults interests

4. Making a Positive Contribution
Children are considerate
Children value diversity
All children are included
Children's needs are met through partnership with parents

5. Achieve Economic Well-Being
Adults are well qualified
Adults use resources well
Adults use records effectively
Adults prepare the children with skills needed for later on in life

The purpose of the policy is to ensure that these five principles were at the heart of all interaction with children to ensure that children were safe and given the best chances in life.

2020 Stepping Stones Pre-School • Fordingbridge • Hampshire • SP6 1JF • Tel 01425 653517